SmartVPS - the complete multi-account hosting solution! Each individual account comes with free backups, addon domains, PHP-FPM with OPcache and server-side caching for lightning-fast sites. And all this at a great price!
50% OFF ALL NEW PLANS TO HELP MORE BUSINESSES MOVE ONLINE

Backup

The Backup section of the Control Panel is used to make backups of your account data. Backups can only be made once a day. The Backup function allows you to create a backup of your Web Files, MySQL databases and email.

Types of backups

By default when you backup your account data, the system creates a temporary backup. Temporary backup files will be available for 3 days, then deleted automatically. You can also create Permanent backups which never get deleted by the system. To create a permanent backup you need to create a temporary one first and then use the Save button to make it permanent.
Please, note that while temporary backups do NOT count towards your account web space (e.g they do not increase your disk space usage) the permanent backups are counted towards your account quota. This means that a 200MB permanent (saved) backup file will result in 200MB less free space on your account.
You can download any of the backups you have created over FTP.

Creating a backup
To create a backup, enter your Control Panel -> Backup manager. Check the backup types you wish to create and click on the Backup Now button. The backup process may take a while, especially on large sites.

Backup

If you have a checkbox dimmed (disabled) this indicates that you have already created a backup file in the last 24 hours. You can also have a checkbox disabled for the MySQL backup when you do not have a database created on your account. The Backup date column indicates when the backup was created and the System delete column indicates when it will be deleted by the system. Please, note that when you create a new backup file, all previously created backups will be deleted and replaced by the new backup.

Saving a temporary backup as permanent
To have a permanent backup you need to create a temporary one first as described above. Once you have the temporary backup ready, you can use the Save button to make it a permanent one. The permanent backup will be kept on your account as long as you need it. When you save a backup as permanent its status under the System delete column becomes never.
Please, note that permanent backups are counted towards your hosting account web space. This means that a 200MB permanent (saved) backup file will result in 200MB less free space on your account.

Downloading a backup file
To download a backup file, click on the Download backups tab. It will take you to a page with download links to the backup files you have on your account, as well as information about the size of each of the backup files you have created. Backup files can be downloaded over HTTP by clicking on their links.
 
You can download backup files directly from the backup folder on your account, /home/$USER/backup ($USER is the username of your hosting account). You can reach this folder with the File Manager of your hosting Control Panel. Once you go to the File Manager, you have to go one or two levels up, to reach the /home/$USER/ folder. Click on the "backup" folder there, and you will see the files of the backups you have created. Click on the file there to have it downloaded over HTTP.
 
Another option to download backup files is by using FTP. You would need an FTP program to connect to your hosting space (see Uploading files). Once you connect with your main FTP user to the /www/www folder on the account, you would need to go two folder levels up to see the backup folder.
 
Moving a backup file
For security reasons, the archives are generated in a directory that is not web-accessible. You can move the archive to a different location, for example, a web-accessible directory or a directory accessible to a given FTP user. To move the archive, please click its Move button, and choose the directory you want to move the backup file into. Then click the Select button.
Please note that if the backup file is moved into a publicly-accessible directory that can be reached in a web browser, it may be downloaded by a third-party that knows its location. It is recommended that you either delete the archive as soon as it has been downloaded, or that you initially place it in a directory with limited access. You can find details on protecting the web access to directories at Web access protection.

Deleting a backup
To delete a backup, use the Delete button. This will remove the temporary or permanent backup files you have created. Please note that deleting a backup may not give you an option to create a new one immediately. This depends on when the last backup was created, and it is allowed to create one backup per 24 hours. For example, if you create a backup and delete it immediately, you will be able to create your next backup in 24 hours.
Please note that backup files cannot be deleted over FTP. You can delete them only using the Backup manager in the Control Panel.

Failed backups
The Backup section displays the errors encountered during the last attempt for creating a backup of your data under the Failure messages for the system backup subsection. This includes the system and the personal backups.
 
You can also subscribe for email notifications for failed backups using the Failed backup notifications subsection. That way, each time a backup of your data fails, you will receive an email message, and you will be able to take actions. If your system backups fail for seven consecutive days, we might not have a backup of your data. 
 
Restoring data from a backup
You can restore content from the backups through the Restore Manager section of the Control Panel.

What if I do not have a Personal backup, but I need to have a file restored?

We create daily backups of all of our servers, and they include all the accounts data (files, databases, e-mails). We keep backup copies for at least 7 days.